About Us

The Montgomery Area Mental Health Authority is a public, non-profit corporation which is governed by a 24 member Board of Directors. This Board is appointed by local governments under the Authority of Alabama Act 310 of the 1967 Alabama Legislature. The Authority provides a continuum of mental health services for persons with mental illness in a four county area in central Alabama, which includes Montgomery County, Autauga County, Elmore County and Lowndes County.

The Authority is certified by the Alabama Department of Mental Health and Mental Retardation (DMH/MR) as a Community Mental Health Center. Accordingly, services are provided in accordance with the Community Mental Health Program Standards promulgated by DMH/MR. Also, the Agency holds membership in the National Council for Community Behavioral Health Care and the Alabama Council of Community Mental Health Boards.

Fees are charged for services provided; however, some individuals may qualify for a reduced fee based upon family income and size. Some insurances may be billed for eligible services.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Montgomery Area Mental Health Authority is to provide quality mental health services within our service area, to the extent that resources will allow, with the assurance that these services will be provided in a manner that respects individual dignity, promotes recovery, and enhances consumer, family, and provider input.